How did I get here?

So. We all have a starting point where and when we decide to take the leap and get a costume. Some sew it themselves (I admire you guys), and other (like me) buys it. And in most cases, the things we get aren´t very historically accurate (HA), what ever that means. But it’s okay! We can’t be experts on the first try and we can’t know everything from the first moment.

1930459_47665623848_9105_n

My first costume was bought and it was in black linen with big, hanging sleeves. I was a bit gothic, and the bird foot to wrap it up! Modern sandals and no thought about having a veil or covering my hair some other way. I wore this at my first ”adult” Medieval week in Visby and I was so proud!

1909771_136395722232_1531880_n

The following Medieval weeks I also borrowed my sisters red linen dress, and got a belt bag.

1909771_136377847232_1375425_n

The turning point came at the medieval week 2009 when I got some new friends and had a newly bought cape and hood, Bockstensmannen model, in wool and the double layer look really got me inspired.

daniel

So, when I got home after Visby in 2009 I wished for money to buy fabric for my birthday and I got some green wool and with some friends help I sewed, by hand, a kind of generic 14th Century sideless surcot. I decorated it with a tablet weaved trim.
I didn’t weat it that many times, but it at least got me thinking about sewing more and that I could sew. It was a good start.

The picture is from 2010 and that year I got a pair of ”medieval” shoes, generic model and not made by hand, but it looked better than the sandals at least.

In 2010 I moved to Visby and joined Styringheim, the local group in SCA and the rest is history.

Lämna en kommentar

Filed under Okategoriserade

Kommentera

